| join


Need a password hint? Click here
Need to reset your password? Click here

Republicans seek new delegate

The Republican Central Committees of Caroline, Cecil, Kent and Queen Anne’s counties have announced the procedure for filling the vacancy for District 36 in the Maryland Assembly created by the resignation of Delegate Stephen S. Hershey, Mr. Hershey was sworn in today as the Senator replacing E.J. Pipkin.

Article III, Section 13 of The Constitution of Maryland prescribes that the Republican Central Committees of the four counties in District 36 – Caroline, Cecil, Kent and Queen Anne’s – have 30 days to fill the vacancy created by Delegate Hershey’s resignation. As Delegate Hershey was a Republican, the new Delegate must be as well.

The Central Committees will be accepting letters of interest until the close of business on Oct. 14. Letters should include a statement of qualification and full contact information including mailing address, email address, and phone numbers. Materials should be e-mailed to MdDelegate36@gmail.com for consideration.

While all four counties will participate in the selection process, the nominee must live in the either Caroline County or Queen Anne’s County. Owly registered Republicans be considered.

Once the Central Committees review the applicants, a name will be forwarded to Governor Martin O’Malley for appointment. He must then act within 15 days.


You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. For more information, please visit our FAQ page.